Maureen Jennings with husband Iden Ford

Born in Birmingham, England, shortly before WWII broke out. (I had nothing to do with this but as my mother was always remarking that I had just been born when it happened, I felt vaguely responsible.)

At the age of 11, I went to a conservative grammar school named Saltley which I adored and which had a profound effect on me. I graduated early with a wide and deep knowledge of English literature and an abysmal ignorance in math and science.

1956 - Emigrated with my mother to Windsor, Ontario, Canada.

1958 - Attended Assumption University run by the Basilian Fathers. Graduated early thanks to advance credit for my English “A” levels. Acquired a B.A. degree in psychology and philosophy.

1961 - Wandered in the wilderness of career confusion. Taught high school for two years then rushed back to university. This time the University of Toronto where after two years I had an M.A in English literature.

1966 - Taught English at Ryerson Polytechnic Institute. (I had the good fortune to be there with a great group of people many of whom became writers. i.e Eric Wright; Peter Such; Ernest Harrison; Gary Geddes; Graeme Gibson; Karen Mulholland; Constance Beresford Howe.)

1972 - Left to pursue a career as a psychotherapist.

1978 - Met Iden Ford who was to become my husband and chief supporter.

1991 - First play produced at Solar Stage.

1997 - First novel, Except The Dying published.

2000 - Shaftesbury Films (Christina Jennings CEO) optioned the William Murdoch series for Television.

2003 - Shaftesbury Films in association with CITY TV and Bravo adapted three Murdoch novels into Movies of the Week, one of which (Under The Dragon’s Tail) gave BRAVO television the highest rated MOW in their history.

2007 - Shaftesbury Films in association with CITY TV/Rogers/UKTV/Granada International began production on the Murdoch Mysteries television series.

2008 - Essentially no longer working as a therapist, currently doing what I always wanted to do.

2009 - Began work on a WW2 trilogy of suspense novels entitled The Season Of Darkness Trilogy, comprised of three WW2 crime thrillers set in the Midlands, UK circa 1940.

2011- Maureen developed a story concept with a partner, Debi Drennan, for a tv series set on the home front in Canada, based upon women who worked in a munitions factory during WW2. The idea is purchased by Back Alley Films (Durham County) and developed into a full fledged TV series with Muse Entertainment for Global Television entitled “Bomb Girls”. The series is the number 1 new drama on Canadian Television when broadcast in January 2012.

2012 - The Murdoch books are published by Titan publishing in the UK and are released to coincide with the broadcast of season 5 of the Murdoch Mysteries on UKTV Alibi.

2013 - The Tom Tyler series is picked up by Titan Books in the UK

2014 - on the 180th anniversary of the City Of Toronto, Maureen is named by the Toronto Star as one of 180 people who have helped shape the history of the city because of her books and tv series… Murdoch Mysteries.

2014 - No Known Grave, the third book in the WW2 Tom Tyler series, will be published in 2014, Books 4 and 5 in the Tom Tyler series are sold to M & S/Random House as well as Titan Books in the UK and are to be published in 2016 and 2017.

Maureen Jennings doing research in England

Maureen Jennings doing research in the outer Hebrides, Scotland