Archive for the ‘News’ Category

The short story Viaticum in development for a feature short film

Exciting news, a short story Maureen wrote back in 1998 is in development for a feature short film. Production is tentatively planned for late this Spring. Maureen is co writer of the script. More details to follow soon.
You can read the original publication of Viaticum in 1998 here in Taddle Creek Press.

Maureen pens a poem inspired by the tragic events recently in London

©Maureen Jennings 2017

I AM THE BOY ON THE BUS. (March 23, 2017)
I am the boy on the bus
Who begged his mother to sit on the upper level
So he could see the river.
He says, Thames as if the t-h is pronounced hard
Like, ‘the.’
I am the girl skipping beside her tall father
Who is in a hurry.
I am [...]

Murdoch Mysteries picks up 5 Canadian Screen awards and is also renewed for season 11

Murdoch Mysteries won 5 Canadian Screen awards in the categories of writing, highest rated drama in Canada for 2016 and the Golden Screen Award. Congrats to the entire team.
CBC also announced it was renewing the show for another season, which will include 18 episodes plus a 2 hour Christmas Special.

Just announced…. the Canadian Guest of Honour at Left Coast Crime 2019

Link here for the complete details

The next Detective William Murdoch Mystery novel - Let Darkness Bury The Dead…

After writing four WW2 novels featuring DCI Tom Tyler, after a 10 year hiatus, there will be a new Detective Murdoch mystery novel.
The famous detective, now 23 years older since we last saw him, has had many changes in his life since A Journeyman to Grief, and is needed to solve a case set in [...]

Sneak peak of the next episode of Murdoch Mysteries written by Maureen Jennings

Link here to view a preview of “The Missing” airing Monday, January 23rd @ 8pm on CBC

Congrats to the nominees for this year’s Canadian Screen Awards

Murdoch Mysteries is nominated in the following categories:
Best tv movie Murdoch Christmas
Best Writing Peter Mitchell
Best Actress for dramatic special Helene Joy
Best Music Rob Carli
Best At Direction Armondo and Kent
Best Wardrobe Alex Reda
Best Direction for dramatic special Michael McGowan
Best Makeup and Hair Deb Drennan and Shirley Bond
Best Guest actor William Shatner

Maureen’s next novel will be a new Detective William Murdoch Mystery

“Let Darkness Bury The Dead” will be published in the Fall of 2017 and deals with an older William Murdoch. Set in 1917 during the home front of WWl Toronto. More details to follow soon, the novel will be the first Murdoch Mystery published in the past 10 years.

Murdoch Mysteries season 10 premieres on Monday Oct 10 on CBC across the country

MURDOCH MYSTERIES now in its 10th season and marking 150 episodes of the series, continues to follow the heroes at the Toronto Constabulary as they solve crimes inspired by Canadian history and international celebrities of the early 20th century.
Season 10 kicks off in grand style with a two-part mystery set in the world of Toronto [...]

Maureen’s appearances for the Fall season to promote Dead Ground In Between

Eden Mills writers Festival Sunday Sept 18 @ 4:30-5:30 link
The Mysterious Bookshop - NYC - Thursday Sept 22 @ 11 am
Toronto Word on the Street -Sunday Sept 25 @ 3:45 in the Great Books Marquee
The Runnymede library in Toronto Wednesday October 12 @ 7 pm
County of Lexington & Addington One Book festival -   October [...]