Latest News...

Read the interview on TV-Eh regarding Game Of Kings

Maureen wrote this week’s episode on Murdoch Mysteries and was interviewed by Greg David for the TV-Eh website here

Maureen has new publicity photos done by Scarlet Page

While in the UK this past January, Maureen met up with UK photographer Scarlet Page and they had a morning of photography outside of Reading. Very happy with the results.

Booklist gives Let Darkness Bury the Dead a “starred review”

The new book has reprinted upon publication,  and here is one of the many stellar reviews the book has received just a week after it’s November release. link here to read the starred review

Big launch of the new Murdoch novel, you’re all invited but come early

less than 90 days to publication of the first Murdoch novel in 10 years

Official Press release for the start of production for season 11 of Murdoch Mysteries

Link here

Dead Ground In Between is a finalist for Best Novel of the year - Canadian Crimewriters

The latest Tom Tyler novel is shortlisted for best novel by a Canadian Crime Writer.

Description of the new Murdoch novel - “Let Darkness Bury The Dead”

It is November 1917. The Great War is grinding on, chewing up young men by the thousands. Initially, in the loyal Dominion of Canada, people are mostly eager to support the Motherland and fight for the Empire. Men perceived as slackers or cowards are shunned. But the carnage is horrendous and with enforced conscription, the enthusiasm for war is dimming.
William Murdoch is a widower, a senior detective who, thanks to the new temperance laws, spends his time tracking down bootleggers and tipplers; most unsatisfying. His wife, Amy, died giving birth to their second child, a girl who lived only a few hours more. Murdoch, racked by grief, withdrew from four-year-old, Jack. This he regrets and would dearly love to make up for his negligence.
As we enter the story, Jack, now twenty-one, has returned from France after being wounded and gassed on the Western Front. It is soon apparent that he is deeply troubled but he’s not confiding in his father. He does, however, seem to be bound by shared secrets to another wounded former soldier, Percy McKinnon.
Murdoch suddenly has much more serious crimes than rum-running on his hands. The night after Jack and McKinnon arrive home, a young man is found murdered in the impoverished area of Toronto known as the Ward. Soon after, Murdoch has to deal with a tragic suicide, also a young man. Two more attacks follow in quick succession.
Increasingly worried that Jack knows more than he is letting on, Murdoch must solve these crimes before more innocents lose their lives.

The amazing cover art for the next Murdoch Mystery

The short story Viaticum in development for a feature short film

Exciting news, a short story Maureen wrote back in 1998 is in development for a feature short film. Production is tentatively planned for late this Spring. Maureen is co writer of the script. More details to follow soon.

You can read the original publication of Viaticum in 1998 here in Taddle Creek Press.